These days in which the news about blackmail attempts or account leaks of any service are so common, it is very important to ensure the security of your Apple account so that you do not get any disgust. Keep in mind that in your account you have registered your credit or debit card, with which anyone could make purchases on iTunes if they had access to your account.
Not only that … the problem can be much more serious because with access to your Apple account, it is possible to enter iCloud.com and block your iPhone, iPad or Mac forever. Not even deleting all the data could activate it again, if someone for example marks the option of lost or stolen iPhone and then changes the password of your Apple account. Simply, you would lose everything … and all this without counting that obviously that person would have access to your photos and videos or even mail if you use the Apple service for that. If you have private or compromising photos, you could become the perfect target for blackmail.
Fortunately, Apple has long since activated a new security system that all other Internet companies and services are adopting; Verification in two steps. It is a system thanks to which, if someone tries to access your account from a new device (such as a new iPhone, a computer with an iCloud browser, someone with iTunes on another computer that has not previously accessed your account etc.), you will receive a notification on your iPhone like this;
If you accept, you will get a number like this … that obviously changes every time.
If you enter that number on the new device, you can access your account. This means that only if you have physical access to your iPhone, you can authorize access to your account. A hacker who has obtained your username and password will need that number, which will not arrive because you will have it on your iPhone, and so, Apple will not give you access to it. It is a true lifesaver and although all this is undoubtedly an inconvenience, it makes your account much safer; It is called two-step verification (or double factor authentication, as Apple calls it) because the first step is your username and password, and the second, the code that is sent to your iPhone.
In this article we explain how to activate this security measure to ensure that only you have access to your account.
How to enable this double factor authentication directly on your iPhone
The first thing you have to do is open the Settings App, and within it, navigate to the iCloud options, and within that screen, click on the first button, which shows the email you are using with your Apple account.
We will be asked for our iCloud username and password. We introduce them. On the next screen, we must click on Password and security. In that new screen, we must click on Enable double factor authentication.
Please note that if you had a verified alternative email address, it will be removed from your account automatically. The reason is simple; if you can verify your account using your iPhone, you no longer need a second email address to verify that it is you.
By clicking on that button, we will be notified about what will happen regarding the security of our account. Click on Continue, and you will be asked for a phone number. By default, the number we use on that iPhone will appear, although if you want, you can specify another number. If that number is on an Android Smartphone or any other system, the message will arrive as an SMS. If you use an iPhone, it will arrive as a nice notification with the map of the approximate location of that attempt to enter, adding a new security layer by providing more information that allows you to identify if it is you who tries to access your account. Click on Continue, and you will receive an email confirming that you have effectively activated two-factor authentication.
When you return, you will be asked again for your iPhone access code – after entering it, you will see on the screen that two-factor authentication is enabled. Congratulations, your Apple account is now much more secure